Cayman helps prune my terrace garden

We are finally getting a spell of warm weather here on the West Coast. This is helping my terrace garden to flourish and I now have a multitude to choose from; peas, strawberries, garlic, a wide variety of natures best.

Cayman helps prune my balcony garden

The face of innocence

I watch closely for bugs, caterpillars, aphids, slugs anything that could be a potential danger to my green oasis. Only what I wasn’t expecting was a potential threat closer to home, my Little Red Houdini Dog.

Cayman helps prune my balcony garden

This is when I first noticed I need to ‘secure’ the area

So quicker than Cayman with the Zoomies I put up tall fences to try to keep him at bay. And I have to admit I thought myself fairly pro-active regarding my plants safety. I would see Cayman out there looking, trying to figure out an angle. You could almost see him analyzing his options. Trying to figure a way through the obstacle between him and his goal, food. I can speak from experience when I say, there is NOTHING like Cayman when he is focused on anything food related.

Even with all my best efforts in place he still he manages to manoeuvre his little lips and squeeze his tongue through the closely spaced bars. Thus receiving what I imagine to be in Caymans mind a true taste of the good life!

Cayman helps prune my balcony garden Yummy Nasturtiums

So I, not to be out manoeuvred by the Little Red Dog, move the fence a little further out. Wanting to deter just enough from his ability to Clear-cut any shoots of greenery that dares to grow within reach of his double-jointed lips. Feeling safe in my master plan I think to myself, “There I’ve got it covered this time Cayman!”.

So with pruners in hand, and somewhat smug in my cleverness was again busy in my own little world of gardening at the far end of the terrace.

Things are going too smooth, and all is too quiet. Suspiciously, I look around for Cayman, where did he go? He was here a second ago! Then to my dismay I look down to where I see a familiar red blur. As my eyes focus, I see Cayman further down in my wonderful, perfect green leaves of lettuce. There he was happily munching through the fence, using his lips!

Cayman helps prune my terrace garden

Cayman enjoying Salad a la carte

“All right this is it.” I think to myself. Yet again I abandon my pruners, and head down to my small, and getting smaller by the second vegetable garden. “Cayman” I say, “You have to stop little buddy!”

Cayman helps prune terrace garden

I can’t help myself

Cayman was back at my Nasturtiums trying as gently as he could to pick off just a few leaves. It seems he was stock piling them on his side of the fence, perhaps for leaner times to come?

Cayman helps prune terrace garden

When I got to where Cayman was he had this look on his face as if to say, “What Mama? I am helping you to prune!”. And on the ground in front of him lay some of the carnage from the Little Red Dogs day helping me with my garden.

Helpful hints 2 paws 4:

Pets can easily ingest plants that can be harmful to them. Here are a few precautions that can help to minimize the chances of this happening.

  1. Check with your vet, garden centre or go online to see which plants could potentially be poisonous to your pet. Just a few popular commonly used plants that are known to be poisonous are: Autumn Crocus, Daffodils, Iris, and Morning Glory.
  2. Watch for toxins in your fertilizers. Pets can so easily eat leaves, or dirt that has been sprayed.
  3. Try to use pet-friendly pesticides. Remember our pets could lick their paws after walking on a lawn that has been sprayed for weed control.
  4. Be aware of the sun and its effects on your pet. Apply sunblock to exposed skin areas as the suns rays can dry out or even burn these areas. In particular pay attention to the nose as it’s overly susceptible to burning.
  5. Also keep a fresh bowl of water available. Perhaps put in a few ice cubes for entertainment and a cool refreshment!

Planning ahead for your best friend’s safety is the best way to avoid unnecessary health issues later on.

Do you have suggestions or helpful hints? Please leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Cayman helps prune my terrace garden

Leave a Comment

