What’s On Your Workdesk? This week, Rain or Shine

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Welcome to this week’s ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. I decided that Rain or Shine by MFT was perfect considering the weather this week! On a positive note, I haven’t had to water my garden! So, let’s get to this week’s project.

Rain or Shine

 

I used a technique this week called Paper Piecing on the coat, umbrella, and the cute little pup’s coat! If you want more details on how I do Paper Piecing on my projects you can find my tutorial here. I love using Paper Piecing it can carry the colour, or design throughout the whole card! My Rain or Shine card was completely done using cardstock by Recollections, called Sweet Flora. I liked how the teal, and red worked together giving a new twist on a retro feel.

RAIN OR SHINE 3

I accomplished the umbrella by drawing a freehand template, and then I cut it out with my Cutter Bee scissors. This took me a few tries as I wanted the arches of the umbrella to match up when I Paper Pieced them together.

RAIN OR SHINE 2

I used Copic marker on the grass (G40), and Tombow #158 for the blades of grass. For the sky, and puddle I used (B0000), and then added raindrops using a White Versa Inkpad. Unfortunately the raindrops don’t show up particularly well in this picture, but the overall effect I was going for worked really well! For the skin tone I used E00. I wanted the boots to match as best I could with the colours I had available. So I settled on YR21 for the yellow/gold, and BG72 for the blue. For the pup I used a combination of E31, and E33.

I used Cuttlebug’s Polka Dots Embossing Folder to create texture on my card base. For the label I used my Grommet tags by Spellbinders. Finally to finish off my card, I used a few Adhesive Pearls by Recollections.

That’s it for my card this week using MFT clear stamp set, Rain or Shine. Why don’t you share with me what you are working on this week?

Until next time, I’m wishing you sunshine in your day!

updated jessi signature

 

3 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? This week, Rain or Shine

Leave a Comment

