What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Mother’s Day!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everyone, and welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. This has been a busy week here on my workdesk! First Mother’s Day, and then still another special occasion that I’ll tell you about a little later! Well, I bet I wasn’t the only one PaperCrafting like mad to get done in time for Sunday …hmm… then again maybe I was?? Okay, enough dilly-dallying let’s get to this weeks card.

Happy Mother's Day

I called this card I thought appropriately enough, “Happy Mother’s Day”. I have been on a bit of a pink theme for the last few weeks, but really can I go wrong with pink for Mother’s Day? I think not!

Happy Mother's Day Inspiration

I found my inspiration for this colour combo while on a walk with my little buddy, Cayman. While he did his sniffing, and slow meander I had time to really take in the vibrant beauty of these Tulips. It was raining like mad, but I still managed to snap a few pictures to scrutinize later at home. Then armed with my trusty Copic marker chart I managed to find colours that were quite close to those of the real Tulips!

Happy Mother's Day Tulips and Sentiment

I stamped the Tulips from the set Floral Inspiration, by Inkadinkado using Memento Tuxedo Black. Then I stamped Happy Mother’s Day using ColorBox Pigment Brush Pad, Pink. I used Copic sketch markers RV00, 02, 04 for the Tulips, and YG 11, 13, and 17 for the stems.

Happy Mother's Day layout

For the layout itself I used my Sizzix Big Shot to cut out my Spellbinders Labels Sixteen die. I wasn’t happy with my original sizing as it just didn’t look in proportion. I fixed this by re-cutting using a smaller die which helped to balance the overall card. Then I cut Happy Mother’s Day into a Banner using Taylored Expressions Stacklets 1. I originally had a second Banner, but decided to scrap that idea feeling it looked too busy. Instead I decided to place a piece of pink ribbon, with sparkly hearts 🙂 underneath. This anchored the banner to the card base, and gave the card some glitter! Win, win!

 

Next I did the button with pink, and white Baker’s Twine and tied in a bow. Bows are something I really struggle with. I always find myself redoing my bows over, and over. I can honestly say, this is NOT the best time for me to have coffee… so I found out while doing this card! So with this task finally completed, I move my attention to piecing my card together. For me, this is really the fun part of Cardmaking! Surrounded by glue, Pop Dots, tape, string, bits paper, and feeling a bit like Edward Scissorhands I completed my Mother’s Day Card!

Happy Mother's Day sentiment

I finished off the inside of my card with a sentiment from Sandra Wright called Fabulous Sentiments. The flower is from the set Floral Inspiration, by Inkadinkado. Both are stamped using ColorBox, Pink.

So this was my Mother’s Day card for this year.  I hope that you had a wonderful day surrounded by love. Next week, What’s On Your Workdesk? has a special occasion for someone very special!

I love to hear from you! Why don’t you tell me what you have on your desk this week?

Until next time, I’m wishing you sunshine in your day!

updated jessi signature

 

2 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Comment

