What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Erin!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello, welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. As I mentioned last week there was another special occasion I needed to make a card for. It was my sister’s birthday!! I get excited when I get to do family occasions, and Erin’s is especially fun! Okay so let’s get to this week’s card!

Happy Birthday ~ Erin

First thing you will probably notice is, well its, … pink! Very pink! Let me try to explain, when I do my cards for friends, or family I try to use colour, and design that means something to them. Erin likes pink, she once told me it makes her feel girly. So pink it is! Now let’s deconstruct Erin’s Birthday card. I started this card with a fun stamp set called Doodle Birthday by Recollections. I stamped out the cake using Memento Tuxedo Black, on to Georgia Pacific white card stock. Happy Birthday is from the same set, and I used ColorBox pigment brush pad Pink to stamp it. I coloured in the little dots with Copic marker RV04 to match. I then added a few Rhinestones, and a few small pink buttons to finish off the sentiment. I just love how swirly, and whimsical this sentiment is!

Happy Birthday ~ Erin

For the Cake I used Copic markers RV000, RV00, RV04 to blend. The candle flame is a combination of Y11, and Y15. The candle sticks were done using RV02, and RV04. I added just a few Adhesive Rhinestones to give it a little sparkle. Cause what girl doesn’t like a little sparkle 🙂 Erin is also a big fan of  Baker’s Twine so I placed it along the outside edge. I did this by using Martha Stewart fine-tip glue pen and a toothpick. I drew a very thin line of glue using the toothpick around the outside, then carefully placed the Baker’s Twine where I wanted it. The glue dries clear so this worked well for this type of application. For the pink heart I used a spot of Liquid Stitch on the back of the button to adhere it in place.

Happy Birthday ~ Erin

My sister likes to sew, and what better use for pink Ric Rac than on the base of her card! I used pop dots to give overall dimension to this card. The pink Chevron paper is from Pebbles Basics collection.

Happy Birthday ~ Erin

On the inside of the card I made it a bit busier than usual, but hey it’s a celebration card! This sentiment is from PaperTreyInk set Heartfelt Basics. For consistency I again used my ColorBox pigment brush pad Pink to stamp it. The label die I used is by Spellbinders, and is called Grommet Tags. The Candles are from a die set by Memory Box called Birthday candles. I coloured the flames with Copic Y11, and Y15 placed them on top of the original candles cut from the Chevron paper. Not easy to get these teeny, tiny flames glued on, but worth the effort! For the banners I used Taylored Expressions Banners Stacklets 1. I finished off the inside with 2 enamel dots from Teresa Collins summer stories collection. I love using enamel dots, and the pastels in this collection are perfect!

So above are a few pictures I took of this card as it progressed. I had a lot of fun making this card, and I know my sister appreciated the personal touches I put into it!

Just a quick note about using ColorBox pigment brush pads. The ink pads I use are quite small, but they are great to use! They give a wonderful smooth, and even coverage to the stamp. When put to paper the image was crisp, and complete. Although I wouldn’t use this ink if I was going to be using Copics, for a stand alone image they work fantastically!

Do you have a favourite ink that you like to use? I’d love to hear your feedback about this, or any other comments you’d like to make!

Until next time I’m wishing you blue skies, and sunshine!

updated jessi signature

 

3 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Erin!

  1. Pingback: Cross Stitch – Sewing Room | Sunshine In Your Day

Leave a Comment

