What’s On Your Workdesk? What do you get when you mix BBQ and Dad together?

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. This week my focus was on making my Dad a Father’s Day card. When I thought about times spent with my Dad, BBQ definitely came to mind! My Dad is a grill master so when I mix Dad, and BBQ together… I get YUMMY!

Happy Fathers Day

Happy Father’s Day!

 

Happy Fathers Day

So with this theme in mind I started to piece together my design. I used my favourite paper by Pebbles called Love You More. I must say, very appropriately named for this card don’t you agree? The BBQ stamp was from my Hero Art set called Happy Father’s Day, and fussy cut. My tree is called Oak from AI, and is also fussy cut. I dug out a few die from my Die Storage. I used Grand Rectangles (Spellbinders), Picket Fence Border, Build a scene Rolling Hills, Banners Stacklets 1, and Grass Border (all Taylored Expressions). Of course my Big Shot did most of the work… I love using my Big Shot! Anywho… lets move along.

Happy Fathers Day

For my Copic colouring I like to use the flick technique. I find that this gives me the best blending overall. Also I start with the darkest Copic colour advancing through to the lightest. I find this technique works best for me, but I have read of people using light to dark and finding this works well for them.

Happy Fathers Day

Next step, I lay out my semi-finished pieces and see how they all look together. It is at this stage if I am not happy with something I can change it. When I am happy with the design I can start to adhere the pieces together. I use a few different adhesives depending on what I am trying to achieve. For this particular card I used my Xyron Mega Runner by Teresa Collins, mini & large pop dots by All Night Media, and all-purpose gel adhesive by Martha Stewart. One thing that I have found is when doing a project it really helps to have the right adhesive for the job. Some adhesives work well for one medium, but may not for another. It helps to have a variety of adhesives at your disposal.

Happy Fathers Day

To finish off the outside of my card I added a button with Baker’s Twine tied into a bow. Gosh, I think I am finally getting the hang of bow making! The Oak tree was inked using Memento Cottage for the green, filled in with Copic colours YG61, and YG67. I used Memento Cocoa for the trunk filling in with Copic E15, and E19. Finishing off the dirt I used E23. For the sentiment I again used the set Happy Father’s Day and Memento Cocoa.

Happy Fathers Day

For the inside I used EK Mini Pennant punches. I strung the pennant with yellow Baker’s Twine in trying to keep the inside and outside consistent in design. This was a special card made just for my Dad. It was made with love, and care just like our relationship. I love you Dad, Happy Father’s Day!

Did you do something special for your Dad? If you did, post a link I’d love to see it! I’d also love to hear your feedback on my card, or any other comments you’d like to make!

Until next time, I wish you sunshine filled days!

updated jessi signature

 

2 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? What do you get when you mix BBQ and Dad together?

Leave a Comment

