Organize Your Space – Copic Markers

Copic Sketch Markers:

the basics

COPIC

Copic Sketch Markers are my all-time favourite markers to use! What makes these alcohol based markers so special is how well they blend together. There are a total of 358 wonderful colours available. Each coming with a Medium Broad Nib, and a Super Brush Nib. There is also an optional Medium Round Nib giving you the flexibility to switch up the ends. The sketch marker is also compatible with the Copic Airbrush System to give you even more creative flexibility! I love the coloured, numbered ends as it makes finding the exact colour I’m looking for easy!  Another great thing about this marker is the barrel is oval, so it doesn’t roll on my table when not in use! Copic markers are not cheap so I appreciate that you can buy refill ink when the marker is empty rather than throwing them away!

Copic refill ink

However, a word of caution… these markers have quite a learning curve to them! Be prepared to spend time learning how to properly blend with these markers. One thing that works well for me is blending from darkest to lightest, rather than lightest to darkest. Although, from what I have read both styles are acceptable, and it is just personal preference. The best advice I can give you is just to practice, and play with them! These markers are great fun, making your card even more personal by adding unlimited colour choices to your design! In the future I will do a tutorial on how the numbering system works, and is used for blending. For this post however, I will stick to the organizational aspect of my Copic Markers.

using your colour charts

Copic chart

I have a few copies of my Copic Colour chart, and I use them in different ways. This picture above is a copy of the chart that I carry in my purse. It becomes particularly handy when I am shopping for markers and want to know which I have, or don’t have. It is just printed on my 8.5″ x 11″ printer paper (nothing fancy here!). I keep this copy up to date. When I purchase a colour I colour the corresponding number right away so I don’t forget …. I haven’t always done this… and yes, I have had a few number of duplicates! Lesson learned, save myself a return trip by keeping my on-the-go chart up to date! Don’t worry about being messy, just colour in the spot. 🙂

copic large color chart

This second Chart shown above is a bit fancier. What I wanted was a larger rectangle to colour in. I also needed cardstock that would work for alcohol markers, and not bleed too much. What I was really going for here was the true colour of my markers. I made a trip to my favourite copy store here in town, and told them what I needed. They were very helpful in picking a heavier cardstock that wouldn’t bleed the ink outside the rectangle when coloured. I decided on a size of 17″ x 11″, with rectangles of  1/2″ x 1/4″ each. They printed out 2 copies for $1.25…bargain!

Large Copic Chart

Above is an example of how I use this chart. The rectangles are large enough to lay the paper beside the corresponding Copic Colour family. Doing this helps me be accurate in my colour choices as the colours are from my own markers. I can also see complimentary colours for blending possibilities by using this same coloured chart system. I find myself using this chart to match paper to ink, or pre-picking inks for image colouring. I love that it saves me so much time having all the colours I have in my collection right in front of me. Thinking back I wish I had started this chart when I started collecting my Copics!

Below are the blank Copic Colour Charts that I used to make my charts … click on the image if you would like a copy, and save to your computer. Then just print them off on your printer 🙂

Copic blank colour chart

MY COPIC CHART

storing charts, and markers

copic large chart storage

This is where I store my large Copic Colour Chart. I put 2 pieces of Velcro on the backside of the chart, and it hangs perfectly on the inside of my door! Handy, and ready to use!

copic display case

And finally above is how I store my Sketch markers. I purchased this holder a while ago, it is a CSVDISP display case. This will hold 288 Sketch Markers, and has a longer undivided section on the side that holds 16 of my Copic Wide Markers. This is the best way I have found for organizing my markers. It is functional by showing the numbers and colours. I just love how great it looks with all the beautiful colours lined up!

copic bottom image

I hope you found this post on how I store my Copic Markers, and stay organized helpful. Possibly giving you a few ideas on how to organize your own supplies of markers! Do you have a different marker storage idea that works for you? I’d love to hear about it. Just drop me a comment below!

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope your day is filled with Sunshine!

updated jessi signature

3 thoughts on “Organize Your Space – Copic Markers

  1. Pingback: What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Mom! | Sunshine In Your Day

  2. Pingback: What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Steve! | Sunshine In Your Day

  3. Pingback: What’s On Your Workdesk? Wow, didn’t see that comin’! | Sunshine In Your Day

Leave a Comment

