What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Steve!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hi everyone, and welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’! September is a busy month for birthdays in my family so I decided to get a early start! For this week my What’s On Your Workdesk? project is for my brother, Steve. I decided to focus on a memory that we both share of the birdhouses my Uncle made. One of which was prominently displayed in my grandma’s garden. As a child I spent many hours watching birds fly to, and from this birdhouse. It was large enough for many birds to raise their young, and it was beautiful. My Uncle made, and painted many birdhouses through the years. Most done in his signature colour combination of red, white, and blue.

This is my completed card, and I hope I captured Uncle Orrie’s palette in my own colour choices. I used my Copic Colour Chart to match the colours a closely as possible. I am pleased with the overall look of this card, and I think it is especially appropriate for my brother’s birthday.

Okay, so here is the lowdown on this card. I stamped using Memento Black Tuxedo a wooden stamp by Hero Arts called Tall Birdhouse. Then I jumped right into Copic Colouring the birdhouse. For the blue I used B02, 04, & 05. The red is R24, and the grey tones are N2, 4, & 6. For the wood I used E31, 35, & 37 using the flicking technique with E37. For the greenery I used G24, and a sea sponge by Martha Stewart Crafts. I applied my Sketch marker ink directly onto the sponge then dabbed it where I wanted green on my image. This worked fine but the sponge did suck up a fair bit of ink. For the sky I used B0000, and added the 3 seagull from my MFT By The Seashore set. For the white of the birdhouse I used my White Prismacolor pencil crayon, shading with Copic W00. And always on hand was my Copic 0 Colorless Blender for touchups along the way.

I then cut out the stamped frame, and using pop dots I raised the image to give a dimensional feel to the card.

For the sentiment I used Hero Arts CL342, and stamped using ColorBox Frost White Ink. I then sprinkled Bright White Embossing Powder (Martha Stewart) over the sentiment, and used my embossing gun. I think it turned out nicely against the black cardstock.

For the inside I stamped the sentiment from hampton art (PS0356). I also embossed it with Bright White Embossing Powder. The fun chevron strips were done using Die-namics Chevron Strips by MFT.

I wanted to make a special envelope for this card so I dug out my new Envelope Punch board by EK. I must say I was a little leery of tackling an envelope… truth be told I have had this punch for quite awhile and kept putting it off! I can honestly say I found this tool really easy to use. I will defiantly be using it a lot in the future! Here is my completed card, with my envelope ready to be mailed!

This was my inspiration, my birdhouse from Uncle Orrie

These are a few shots I took as my card progressed.

So until next time I’m wishing you blue skies, and sunshine wherever you are!

updated jessi signature

 

4 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Steve!

  1. Pingback: Over The Garden Gate – Holy Cannoli! | Sunshine In Your Day

  2. Pingback: What’s On Your Workdesk? EEK! Happy Halloween! | Sunshine In Your Day

Leave a Comment

