What’s On Your Workdesk? Happy Birthday Mom!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello, and thank you for stopping by to check out ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’! September is such a great month not just because early fall is in the air, but also a few family members have birthdays this month! So for this week my What’s On Your Workdesk? project is for my Mom’s birthday. A few weeks ago I asked my Mom what her favourite colour is, she answered “orange”. We all know Mom loves white, and she was just being a smarty-pants. However, I decided to capture her “new” fav colour in her birthday card this year just as a fun element! Okay, so lets get down to deconstructing this card!

Above is my finished card for Mom using her favorite colours, white and orange 🙂 ! First I pulled out my Copic Colour Chart to see what I had in the way of orange, and was happy with my available choices. I am working on my Copic skills, trying to become better at blending. Practice, practice, and more practice! Overall though I am happy with this card, and how it turned out!

Basic Layout

I stamped out the little girl from the MFT’s stamp set called Love Is In The Air. Really… how cute is she?! She is my first attempt at hair colouring with Copics. So here is a lowdown of my Copic color choices. Shoes & Dress: YR04 YR15 & Y21. Hair: E50 E31 & E25. Socks: Y21 & Y23. Skin: E000 E00 & R20 plus 0 colorless blender for touchups.

I cut the flags from a patterned 12×12 card stock made by Pebbles called Sunny Side. Then I added the Happy Birthday using my Copic black Multiliner 0.7.

Layering

Next, I always check my layout for sizing. At this point I also check to see if my original conception is as good on paper as I had visualized. Of course, now would be the time to change it if it doesn’t look right 🙂

Copic closeup of girl

I added a Cake from the  MFT You Take The Cake stamp set, and used Copic markers Y21 & YR15 in keeping with the orange theme. The presents are from the same set, and I used  Y17 E37 YR23 & YR27 to color them. For the table, again the same set, I used E37.

Here is my patient lil’ helper. Cayman would be way more thrilled if this cake were only real! Regardless, he is so adorable sitting here in my craft room I had to share!

Demensional angle

I used Pop Dots to raise my three main elements to be the focal point of my card. I also added enamel dots from Recollections as a fun, colorful element. Yep, I still love using enamel dots! The small pearls on the cake are also from my Recollections stash. To finish off the embellishments I used Baker’s Twine to “hang” my banner.

Card and envelope

So here is my completed card, and envelope. I made the matching envelope using my Envelope Punch Board by We R Memory. It was so much fun making this card for my mom, I can’t wait for next year! Love, and kisses Mom! Happy Birthday!

Until next time I’m wishing you early fall days filled with blue skies, and sunshine!

updated jessi signature

 

Leave a Comment

