What’s On Your Workdesk? Winter Sparrows Christmas

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello, welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. This Christmas I have decided to take the crafty plunge, and hand make Christmas cards for family! Armed with few ideas in my head I decided to challenge myself with 3 main components to this card.

1. My cards needed to be clean, and simple

2. Use only product I have on hand, including my paper stock.

3. and… I must use my Copic Markers somewhere on the card.

So with this self-challenge I got out my handy-dandy inventory binder, and with just a hint 🙂 of inspiration from Pinterest I got busy!

A Winter Sparrows Christmas

This is my finished card. I just love this Winter Sparrows stamp and die set from Lawn Fawn! I had never worked with a stamp and die set before this card, it was easier to do than I first thought. And I have to say I love anything that it eliminates the need for fussy cutting!

As always I am in a time-crunch with my Christmas to-do’s. I decided this year I would only make enough cards for a few family members, 6 to be exact. Even so, I still found this proved challenging to complete with all the other projects I have on the go at the moment! That said I did manage to get this task checked off my list! Yayyy me 🙂 Okay, so here is the low-down on my card from start to finish.

I dug out my Fiskars trimmer (a gift from my hubby last Christmas) and cut my card base 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 (sidefold) from my Neenah Solar White cardstock. Next I gathered up my supplies like stamps, die, and inks. All the things I would need for this project.

score buddy CHRISTMAS 2014

Next thing I did was score all of my card base with my little Score Buddy. I have 3 different types, but this one I find by far the easiest to use.

I stamped out my cute little birds, enough for 7 cards (to have a spare just encase). I use Memento Ink as I find it works best when I use Copic Markers. For my birds I used E31, E34, E57, and Y00 for the beak. For the Hat I used G00, and G02. Then for the scarf I used R21, and R24. Finally for the ear muffs I used R11, and R00.

I tried 2 different ways of doing my Sparrows. First I tried coloring before I die cut them, and I also tried die cut first then color. For me I found cutting them out first the better option. Although holding such a little piece of paper, and coloring it was a bit of a challenge I did have a few spares so it all worked out fine!

birds with sparkle CHRISTMAS 2014

This is how the little Sparrows turned out. I decided to add just a hint of Stickles glitter to the accessories on the birds, and on the branch. Then I decided to add a small dab of glitter to the embossed dots on the background… not a lot… as the saying goes less is better.

For the inside sentiment I wanted to try out a set that my sister and I both purchased. This stamp and die are not from the same set, but they work really well together. I can see so many uses for this combination … another happy purchase!


I wanted to add a personal touch to the back of my cards so I picked this stamp. Each and every card was made with love so this was the perfect choice!

So here are my finished cards just waiting to go to my family! Next to-do… get my Christmas stamps! However, for the moment I think I’ll have a nice warm hot chocolate, and listen to the rain hitting the window outside. I love this time of year here on the West Coast!

I hope you have a wonderful pre-Christmas weekend.

updated jessi signature

 

 

2 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Winter Sparrows Christmas

  1. Pingback: Cross Stitch – Sewing Room | Sunshine In Your Day

Leave a Comment

