What’s On Your Workdesk? Daisy Watercolor

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! Welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. I have been trying something new to me, but seems very popular in the crafty world of Cardmaking … Watercolor! And I LOVE it! I decided to purchase a product called Peerless Watercolor. I had been hearing how well they blend, and they really do blend beautifully! I purchased 2 sets the Peerless Water Color Complete Edition Book, and the Peerless Bonus Pak.

I thought I would share this card with you being it is my first attempt at watercolors. I do realize there are a few “technical” flaws, but it was so much fun to try something new!

I used Niji Water brush, medium-sized for this project. I love the convenience of being able to either fill the tube attached to the brush, or use water in a glass to clean these brushes.

This is my completed card. Here you can see the overall blending that I accomplished using the Peerless Watercolor.

I used my MISTI Precision Stamper to position my stamp from  Stampendous’s Daisy Thanks set. MISTI is such a great product for easy, and perfect lining of your stamps. I really believe this product is going to transform the way we stamp images! Gone are the days of guesswork! 🙂  I stamped the image using VersaMark, and then heat embossed Ranger’s Black Super Fine Detail embossing powder. This helped to contain the Watercolor inside the image.

Next I started doing each petal, blending each as I went. I used Chrome Orange, and Golden Yellow on each.

If I wasn’t happy with the blending I could easily layer more Peerless Watercolor until I got the desired look I was going for.

daisy 4

Next I did the centers of the Daisy with Yellow Ochre, Marigold Yellow, and Golden Yellow. Followed by the stems in 2 different colors light, and dark green.

daisy 6

 

For the Mason jar I used Turquoise Blue. I used water to give a faded look to the inside.

 

To finish of my card for the background sky I used Forget-Me-Not. I added a little tag, and some Bakers Twine.

I really had fun using watercolor, and I can see why so many people recommend Peerless. They maybe a little more pricey, but definitely worth the investment!

I will do a blog post at another time on my organization for my Peerless Watercolor. I have a system that works well so far, but I want to test it a bit further to make sure.

I’m always interested to know what products you find work best. Let me know what type of watercolor you use. I’m curious if you get the desired look you are trying to achieve consistently? Tell me you thoughts on watercolor by dropping me a comment below.

Until next time thanks for dropping by,

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

Leave a Comment

