What’s On Your Workdesk? Poppies using Copics

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! Welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. I decided to dig out an older stamp I have from a company long ago called PSX (Personal Stamp Exchange) Botanical Poppies (K-1613). I had never used this stamp, which was quite a shame as it stamps beautifully as you can see.

I decided to do some research on Poppies to get the color as true as possible. After much self-debating I decided on Poppy red with a yellow center, and light green stamens. I used Neenah Solar white paper, and Memento Tuxedo Black ink to stamp the image.

I first did the stems, buds and leaves in G28 (deep tone), and G24 (light tone). As always I had my 0 (colorless blender) handy for touch-up.

I then tackled the Red Poppies starting at the top and working my way down. For the Reds I used R39 (deep tone), R29 (mid tone), and R24 (light tone). I found that these 3 colors blended well together.

This is the completed red Poppies. The Poppies have the dimensional look to them that I was trying to achieve. Being happy with my result I moved on to the centers, and stamens.

For Copic colors I used Yg11, G20, and BV01 for the center. For the Stamens I used Y00, Y11, and Y13.

I decided to hold off making a card for this image instead choosing to frame it. For now I have hung it in my Craftroom. Hmm…maybe it will help me think of the hot summer days to come!

Until next time thanks for dropping by! I hope you have a wonderful week, filled with sunshine!

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

Leave a Comment

