What’s On Your Workdesk? Watercolor Flowers

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! Welcome to ‘What’s On Your Workdesk?’. I have been lovin’ my Peerless Watercolor so much lately that my sister’s Birthday seemed a perfect opportunity to dig them out again! For Erin’s card I decided to try a layout based on a card done by Darlene DeVries that you can view here. This was such a fun card that I have been wanting to try for myself. It is such a good idea she had to use a background stamp as the main image! This gives a lot of image to Watercolor, and there’s nothing wrong with that! Right?!  🙂  

So this here’s my completed Birthday card for Erin using Peerless Watercolors.

To set the image I used VersaMark, Super Fine Black Embossing Powder by Ranger, and my Marvy Heat Tool. Then I dug out my Peerless Watercolors, water, a medium Niji Waterbrush, and then I went to town!

I first put down the a layer of color, and then went back with more layers to try to build up depth within the flowers.

After I finished the flowers I added a very light blue between the flowers to give a ‘sky’ effect.

I then cut panels from my completed watercolor background image, and placed them on the card stock. Now with the Watercolor completed I focused on the sentiment. For this I used Vellum, and Black Embossing Powder. I used the Happy Birthday (of course) from the Simon Says Handwritten Borders Set. I really love this set it’s so versatile!

Here you can see the inside flower that I was going to use, but decided not to in the end. It was just way too much! So instead I opted for a much smaller flower image from the Hero Arts Mother’s Day CL334 set, and I was much happier with the final outcome.

Then to finish off the inside I added ‘it’s time to Celebrate’ from the Hero Arts Find Joy set.

To complete the outside I added 2 small yellow enamel dots from teresa collins summer stories line.

So here again is my completed Card. I really enjoy watercolor. Which comes as a complete surprise to me as I have done so little painting in my life… but who knows maybe that is about to change! 🙂

Well, until next time I’m wishing you sunny days wherever you may be!

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

Leave a Comment

