A girl, and her pup!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! I have been working on a card for my co-worker who recently got a Golden Retriever puppy. Her name is Kenzie, and she is soooo cute! There is nothing cuter than babies! Furry, or not…simply adorable!

So here is my card completed. I have captioned it A girl, and her pup. I started with my Stamp set called You Have My Heart by MFT. I love the girl, and pup in this set! I tried to match the colour of hair/fur to the (human) mom, and the pup by paying close attention when I saw them together.

As you can see by my desk I have a few projects on the go, but I made room for just one more 🙂 First I stamped out my image using Memento Tuxedo Black on Neenah Solar White 80 lb stock. Then I picked my Copic colours for the girl’s hair (E57,E47,E79), and the pup (E31,E33, nose E57,E47). My technique for blending Copic markers is from darkest to lightest. You could also go from lightest to darkest if that works better for you. Gosh, I really love using my Copic Markers! They are one of the best investments I have made in my crafty supplies! I have never regretted getting Copics. They are expensive, yes, but fabulous to use!

Above is the progression of my girl, and her pup. For the grass I played with a few combinations. Finally settling with YG63, YG17, and YG67. This combination matched well with the cardstock I had in mind to ground the image later on.

So next I dug out my Big Shot to die cut the girl, and her pup. I think it would have been easier to die cut first, then colour, as it was a bit finicky to get her lined up. I managed, but it was kinda tricky. Oh well, there is always next time 🙂

So then came the layout stage of my card. I got the cardstock laid down to make sure that I liked the colours, and that they worked well together. Then I started to die cut the grass, fence, hills, and sun. I decided that the tree that you see here in these pictures just needed too much space. So I gave that up, and moved on!

The next stage is to piece my elements together. For my cards I use Georgia Pacific cut 4 1/4″ x 11″, and score it 5 1/2″. Of course this gives a finished card of 4 1/4 x 5 1/2, which I think is a perfect size for mailing. I decided to fussy cut the girl, and pup image as I didn’t want the white edge to show. I stamped my congratulations sentiment using ColorBox Frost White ink.

I used B0000 for the sky then glued the fence to the hills. Next I glued my background hill to the card using Ranger Multi Medium Matte, with a Precision Tip applicator to get into the small fence posts. For the larger area I used my Scotch tape runner. The next hill I used 1/4″ Scor-Tape to give some lift. Then I layered on the hill the first grass mound with my Tombow Stamp Runner. I love this small, easy to use stamp runner. It has a strong adhesive that places dots as well as being a runner… bonus! Finally, I glued the top grass to the image, and then used All Night Media mini pop dots to adhere to my card.

I decided a while ago to purchase an old vintage typewriter. I thought it might come in handy to do the inside verse in some of my cards. I loved how the typed font isn’t perfect! It is lighter in spots, and that is okay in my books! I added a pup, hanging bone, and of course a tiny paw print to finish off the inside. Then glued it in place. Looking at my card I decided it needed a little something. So I added a few seagulls from MFT By The Seashore stamp set to the front to just give a bit more interest. Happy with the outcome I decided to call this card done 🙂

So here again is my completed card. I hope my co-worker, and his family have many happy years with Kenzie. She is one sweet pup!

So until next time I hope you have a fun week of crafting ahead!

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

One thought on “A girl, and her pup!

Leave a Comment

