Heartfelt Thanks

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! This week I have been working on something a little different for me. There was a challenge over at Jennifer Mcquire Ink this week that I wanted to try my hand at. I love the message that she is spreading through this challenge. It is concerning bullying in schools, girls against girls in particular. I think is a huge issue that needs attention brought to it, and what better way than sending a message of sharing handmade kindness. This is a fantastic way to help make a difference even if just in a small way. So thank you Jennifer! You can check out more here, or join the challenges she has going this month!

Here is my card that I made for this challenge. It is a card for my mom to thank her for all that she does, and the kindness she spreads. Mom recently surprised me with a gift of an older side table that I have fond memories of from my childhood. With that act of kindness I wanted to do something nice for her in return. So I went to work, and this is my finished card that was done with love for my mom. I’ll be mailing it to her this week in the post. I love sending cards through the mail. There is nothing like the feeling of receiving an unexpected card in the mail from a friend or a loved one!

I did my rough drawing to get my initial idea on paper. Then I got all my supplies together, inks, stamps, die, cardstock, and I was ready to go 🙂 Some I used, some I didn’t, but I always get everything out that I think I’ll use then pare it down from there.

Here is my rough sketch, and I do mean rough! 🙂 I started with hair, and skin. I used Copic colour E000, E00, and R20 for skin. Followed by E57, E47, and E79 for the hair. I just love this little girl from the MFT Heart Bouquet set! She is adorable!

Next I did the heart flowers in RV25, and RV21. For the dress I used Y13, and Y15. I love how happy these colours are together. Nothing better for a thank you card than a little sunshine yellow!

Next I started on my layout. I thought that flowers would be a good idea, uh… no!  Peeled them off, wrecked the background, and had to start all over again 🙂 oh well… more crafty time!

So with that mistake cleaned up I started on my new layout of die.

The Stitched die is from Lawn Fawns Stitched Labels. It is so cute, and I love how it turned out!

I dug out my vintage typewriter for the inside verse. Then use the heart flowers from my Taylored Expressions Valentine’s Doodle set to give some balance to the inside.

So this is the completed card for my Challenge 1. I think Mom will like that I appreciated her gift, and sent her this card.

Until next time, I hope you have a wonderful week! Filled with sunshine, and smiles.

Leave a Comment

