Resist, the urge was too much!

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody! This week is the second of four challenges over at Jennifer McGuire Ink for the month of November.  The message being shared through Jennifer’s challenge is Share Handmade Kindness to help bring to light bullying in schools, girls against girls in particular. I really want to help share this message by making a handmade card then send it to someone to help spread kindness in our community. For more details about the Kind Campaign you can see more here.

For this second challenge we were to give to someone who works/serves in our community. I decided to make, and send my card to a local veterinarian Ellen whose kindness seems to have no bounds. Ellen is not my veterinarian as I have a dog. Ellen is a feline veterinarian who does such a wonderful service to those who have cats in our community. I have heard so much about Ellen, and The Beacon Cat Hospital. I want to take this opportunity to thank her for all of the wonderful work that she does here in town. To let her know that her kindness touches beyond her clients to all of us who hear of her good deeds. 🙂 Above is my finished card for this challenge! I decided to try to combine a few techniques to this card. I used resisting, reversal resisting (I made up this name), watercolour, and Copics. Oh… and a little fussy cutting for the cat!

First I picked a large background image. Then using Versamark watermark I stamped my image onto watercolour paper. I use the smoother side of the paper which is just my personal preference. Then I embossed the image with Ranger White Super Fine Detail embossing powder. I find Super Fine works consistently well,  other brands I find can be a bit more thick, and gritty.

Next comes the fun part! Watercolour! I got out my swatchbook to see which colour would match my vision of the roses. I decided on Gansai Tambi Dark Pink #34. I am just in LOVE with this colour of pink! I taped down my paper with Frog tape to a cutting board as this helps stop the warping of the paper when wet. I first wet my paper completely with a larger brush then use my Niji medium Waterbrush to add my pink. I went back and layered more pink gradually until I reached the colours I wanted in each rose.

I really like this effect of the white edges. Resist is new to me, although it has been in the crafty world for a long time. It is a great way to give a dramatic effect to an otherwise simple image.

Then I decided to do reversal resisting (again, made up this name) to a diagonal strip that would hold my sentiment. I then Copic coloured the cat from My Favorite Things from the Punny Farm set in C0, and C3. I picked these colours to have her noticeably stand out from the pink.

The Thank you sentiment is from PaperTreyInk’s Petal Pusher set. Next up was adhering all of the components together. I finished off with 3 little Doodlebug Sprinkle enamel dots called Cupcake. Umm… Cupcakes yummy!

I really enjoyed doing this card, and trying a new technique! Resist is a fun way to do Watercolour, and I can’t wait to try it again!

Thank you for taking the time to stop here, and look over my card. You can also join the challenge Jennifer has going all this month by going here. I hope that you have a wonderful week wherever you maybe!

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

Leave a Comment

