Distress Ink Smooshing technique

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everybody, and hello 2016! I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas surrounded by love! Gosh, it is hard to believe that another year has passed. Time just seems to fly and it is hard to fit everything in that I would like to be doing like Watercolor! Which brings me to this card segment. For this card I wanted to try a technique that is new to me, but one that I am seeing popping up all over the internet at the moment! It is called ink Smooshing, and it is great FUN!

This is my completed card using the ink Smooshing technique. One thing that I learned doing this technique is to wear latex gloves next time 🙂

First dabbed 3 different colours of Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pickled Raspberry, Mustard Seed, and Salty Ocean. Spacing the inks approximately 3 inches apart on my craft sheet I then spritz the inks lightly with water. This was to help the inks move around on my watercolor paper. I used Ranger 118 lb watercolor paper for this project lightly “smooshing” it into the Distress inks. I did this repeatedly until I had the desired colours that I wanted. When I reached that stage I set the inks with my heat tool. I then flicked some Salty Ocean on just by using my fingertips then heat set that as well.

I wanted to send this card as a Thank you for a wonderful New Year’s Day dinner that was put on by a family member. So with this in mind I used sentiments from Paper Smooches Simply Said, and Stampin’ Up Crazy about You. Finishing this by embossing with black super fine Ranger Emboss Powder. I now use a product called EK Success Powder Tool Applicator prior to embossing. I found that I was getting a lot of black dots after embossing and this product helps to eliminate this. I still get the odd one but not nearly as many. Just by using a quick dusting of the EK powder tool they are almost all are gone!

Here is a closeup of the Watercolor. This is a totally different technique for me as I like to have some control over the final outcome. Using watercolor I find the outcome isn’t always what I had envisioned 🙂 However, this card did turn out the way I wanted so I am happy with the final result. This is a fun technique that I am sure I’ll incorporate into my cards in the future!

I hope you enjoyed this post, and if you haven’t tried this technique yet give it a try! Just don’t forget the gloves! 🙂

So until next time I hope you have a great week wherever you are.

2 thoughts on “Distress Ink Smooshing technique

Leave a Comment

