Resist, and Distress Ink Watercoloring

Whats on your workdesk gerbera header 300x141

Hello everyone! Welcome to Sunshine In Your Day. It is one of those wonderful sunny/rainy days here on the West Coast! So that makes it the perfect time to do some crafting! Yay! I needed to send a note to my Aunt Helen, and I wanted to add a personal touch. I decided to make a card for her using my Tim Holtz Distress Inks from Ranger. My Aunt is an avid gardener back east, so I thought Roses would be a great choice for her card.

Here is my completed card design. Hopefully this helps get my Aunt thinking of Spring, and the beautiful flowers her garden will have this year 🙂 I again used the Resist technique, but this time I used my Ranger Distress Inks as my medium for Watercolor.

I really am loving this look of the Watercolor Distress Ink. Distress Inks are complimentary to each other so they work together well on the page. Also, by using White embossing powder it keeps the card looking clean. It helps the eye flow across the card, and doesn’t have to stop on a black outline of a stamp. For the leaves pictured above I used Shabby Shutters Distress Ink for the first layer. Followed by a second layer using Mowed Lawn Distress Ink. I went back in and did a third layer in spots that I wanted a titch darker shadow.

I did the Rose petals in Worn Lipstick, adding more layers of Ink to give depth to each petal.

For the background I wanted a very light blue. To give the appearance of a beautiful clear blue sky. For this I used a very watered down Tumbled Glass, and worked on a large piece of laminated cardstock. The laminated cardstock I used helps in a few ways. First, and foremost it helps you see exactly what the color is going to look like when applied on your card. Second it gives me a large palette to really spread out my color. I can add lots of water to really water the ink down. Finally, it makes cleanup a breeze! Rinse, and dry!

Here is a closeup of my Rose using the Worn Lipstick. I like being able to add lots of layers of ink to the edges. It gives a softer overall feel to the Roses.

I added a few rhinestone just to give some bling to this card. Then I was finished! Now I just need to get the note done for Aunt Helen, and its on its way!

Thanks so much for coming by to see what I have been up to! I hope that you are having a fantastic day, and I will see you again soon!

Until next time,

updated jessi signature

You can get the products I used by clicking on the images below 🙂

One thought on “Resist, and Distress Ink Watercoloring

  1. Pingback: Envelopes using Distress Ink Watercoloring | Sunshine In Your Day

Leave a Comment

