Watercolor, and Color Your World

Gansai, and Koi Watercolor

Hi everyone, Jessie here! Today I’m back with another fun watercolor card. This time using the beautiful Gansai, and Koi watercolor palette’s. I used a cute stamp set from Wplus9 called Color Your World. This is a great stamp set, and just perfect for your crafty friends! I added a mason jar full of colorful paintbrushes. Don’t you think this could be straight off any of our craft desks? Okay so lets jump right in, and get started.

First thing was to lay down the background colors. For this I used my Gansai water colors #’s 34, 40, 50,and 62. I am just love this product! It is so smooth, and creamy. It blends together wonderfully! I am not a watercolor artist so I struggled with getting the colors to soften where the color joins. Gansai, I find, is quite forgiving in this aspect 🙂 Once I got done laying down the color I dried it fully with my heat gun. I did the water droplets by flicking water from my fingertips to the watercolor paper. Then let it sit for about 30 seconds, and dab off with a clean paper towel. This helps to give a little splash of interest to the background.

Then I moved on to the detail images using Koi Water Colors. I use a set called Pocket Field Sketch Box which has 24 colors in total. You can see in the picture above the swatch of each watercolor. I did this so I could have an idea of what the colors look like. It is adhered it to the inside lid using double-sided tape. I find I reach for this small box when I travel. It is a perfect size!

In the pictures above you can see the watercolor detail on the individual pieces. For the mason jar I also cut a piece of vellum and fussy cut it. Then added the create sentiment that is included in the same Color Your Would stamp set.

To assemble this card I started with Neenah 110 lb cardstock 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 when top folded. I slit a line around the top rim of the mason jar vellum using my Xacto knife. Then slid the brushes inside under the vellum. It gives the illusion of the brushes being inside the mason jar 🙂 I glued the brushes to the bottom jar cardstock. Then I put small spots of Multi Medium Matte glue in places that would be not noticed when I was done to hold the vellum in place. I popped up the sentiment with adhesive tape to give some dimension.

I finished off this card with a few sequins from Pretty Pink Posh to match the background colors. The inside was left pretty simple, but carried the feel of the card by using the same images. I decided to use a lighter grey to stamp these images as I didn’t want the inside to overpower the front of the card.

So this is the finished card for today! I hope you enjoy this beautiful day 🙂

I will see you next time.



Supplies

Below you will find a list of supplies I used to make this card. If you would like to know more, or purchase an item just click on the image to be taken to the Simon Says Stamp.com website.

Leave a Comment

