Cross Stitch – Iron

Hello, and welcome! I haven’t been doing much in the way of cardmaking do to unforeseen circumstances that have been brutal for me to deal with this past year. I have however, been doing a small amount on the crafty front 🙂 and I’d like to share a Cross Stitch that I have been working on. This is from a beautiful set of four charts that I purchased years ago, and am now just completing the set! I purchased these from here, and there is more info at the end of this post. You can find the Sewing Machine I completed here. I did the sewing machine for my mom in December 2014. Wow, where does the time go! I also have a post on how to prepare your Cross Stitch for framing here. Disclaimer alert! I am in no way a perfect Cross Stitcher. I just have a love for Cross Stitch, and have been doing it since my early 20’s. I find it a relaxing (and beautiful) process 🙂

I find the centre of my fabric, and the centre of my chart to begin. I find this the easiest way to start, and keep track of where I am in the pattern as I go along. I usually do the middle, then move to the outside design going in a clockwise direction. Although this does help. I usually have a few miscounts along the way, and use my thread ripper to remove them.

I work in sections, usually quarters. Visually this works for me in counting. So I’m hopefully making less mistakes. 

Once I have finished the main Cross Stitch design I go onto the Back Stitch (single strands). I love this part as it always pulls the whole design together! Its usually a this point where I catch the parts of the main design that might have been missed along the way.

Usually with my back stitching I do each x but I tried something a little different, and jumped across a few x’s. Not so sure I like this as much, but I can see why people do it this way as well.

So here is the completed Iron Cross Stitch. At some point I hope to get it framed in the same framing that I had the Sewing Machine completed with. I love how this turned out! The colors of the DMC for this project are perfect. They bring a soft, subtle, and whimsical feeling to this design!

I hope you have enjoyed this Cross Stitch project. Maybe you have one on the go, or have one planned? Drop a comment below to tell me about it! I would love to hear from you!

Until next time, happy crafting 🙂

PRODUCT INFO:

I started by using white 14 Count Aida Cross Stitch fabric cut into a 12 inch square for these specific patterns. Pre-cut lengths of DMC Floss sorted on a Project Card. I also use a 7″ Clover Embroidery Hoop that have been using for years. I find I rarely have to adjust the fabric, or tension with this hoop. So for me it was well worth the investment 🙂

Pattern Credit: I purchased this pattern which was a set of 4. It comprises of a sewing machine (my fav), thimble, scissors, and an iron. The originating Cross Stitch Pattern credit goes to No 11 Creation Point de Croix – Juillet/Aout 2011. This is a wonderful company that has fabulous patterns you can purchase. This paticular set can be found here https://www.creationpointdecroix.com/fr/boutique/numeros-reguliers/création-point-de-croix-n-11-detail.html to purchase.


Leave a Comment