Bakery Background, with Purple Onion Designs

Hello, and welcome! For my card today I used a newer stamp from Purple Onion Designs called Bakery Background. Then used the adorable critters from the Hello Bluebird set called Storybook Friends. I love putting different sets together as it can make cards more interesting, and I get more mileage from my stamps 🙂

This card is 5” x 7” card, and the images aren’t for this size. I did take some creative liberty by using a Copic Mulitiliner. First thing to do was change the scene from winter to summer by getting rid of the snow on the roof 🙂 So I drew in the building to the edge, added a sidewalk, street, and for the trees on the left. Then masked out part of Hello Bluebird’s The perfect Spot trees. I also added a counter behind the chairs. This took a bit more to do, but the end result turned out pretty well.

I also like using more subtle colours so I was careful with the shading. I used some colours in my Ranger Distress ReInkers that I don’t normally use for watercolouring on this card. These colours seemed to work for a small town feel 🙂

I really liked doing this as a 5” x 7” card, and although it’s more finicky to piece together the scene. It gives more area to stretch out the scene, and doesn’t feel so busy.

I am trying to stretch my supplies by using stamps, and Dies I already have (mixed with newly purchased items). I do purchase new stamps, but I consider what I’m purchasing. And how it will fit into what I already have.

Do you try to incorporate items that you already have in your designs? This is a relatively new thing for me in the last few years. Tell me how you find doing this… is it an easy thing for you? We, as cardmakers can have quite a supply of stamps to keep track of. How do you keep your supplies organized so you know what you have to use?

I appreciate your stopping by, and until next time

SUPPLIES

Stamp Sets and Dies:

Hello Bluebird – Storybook Friends

Purple Onion Designs – Bakery Background

Purple Onion Designs – The Perfect Spot (3 smaller trees only)

Simon Says Stamp – Hello die

Pink Fresh Studio – Sending You Lots Of Love (sentiment)

Distress Inks:

Gathered Twigs (bunny & mouse, basket, road, tree trunks, house roof, pathway) – Twisted Citron & Peeled Paint (grass, trees) – Barn Door / Black Soot (awning, aprons, sidewalk) – Bundled Sage, Gathered Twigs, Barn Door, Black Soot, Fossilized Amber (storefront)- Shaded Lilac, Squeezed Lemonade, Peeled Paint Picked Raspberry (bunny dress, flowers) – Picked Raspberry, Squeezed Lemonade Peeled Paint (mouse dress, flowers)

Inks:

Hero Arts – Hero Hues (black)

Assorted:

Silver Black Velvet Brush –  Size 4 Round

Ranger Watercolor Paper 118 lb

Neenah 110 lb – Classic Crest, Solar White, Smooth (card base)

Gina K – Connect Glue

Misti Precision Stamper

Score Buddy

Simon Says Stamp – Small Teflon Bone Folder


Leave a Comment