Sending Sweet Celebration with MFT 

Hello, and welcome! I decided to get working on a couple cards for upcoming birthdays. This newer stamp set by MFT called Sending Sweet Celebration Wishes is perfect for any special occasion, but especially birthdays! I just love using cute little animals on my cards. Nope, no realism here folks! Just going for the pure cute factor! 

For these cards I used my Distress Ink ReInkers for watercoloring, and the Distress Ink pads for the softly blended background.

*If you are interested in any products used for this card they are detailed below in the supplies list.*

For these cards I started by softly blending the backgrounds using Clarity Stencil Brushes. I love how these brushes consistently give me the same look, and feel to my cards. The only draw back is they are large, and somewhat heavier than newer Blender Brushes. For me the trade off of storage space for these brushes is worth it to get the beautiful soft pastel look. 

These little guys turned out so perfectly shaded thanks to my Silver Black Velvet #2 brush! I find these brushes have an amazing brush tip, and makes them perfect for the small detailing in cardmaking!

For the fox I reached for my Zig Kuratake Gansai Tambi watercolour set. I found with my Distress Inks I just couldn’t mix the colours I wanted for him. So I used the Gansai, and Vintage Photo to get the brown with a hint of red.

The turtle was so much fun to colour! I first went onto google looking at pictures of real turtles, to see what natural colours they are. Wow, are there ever a lot of different turtles in the world! Anyway, it took awhile until I narrowed it down to one! I look for colours on the internet for some of my projects then change it up to match what I have available in my supplies.  

I really like how these cards turned out! Personally, I love the look of pastel. Occasionally, I’ll boldly branch out. However, I seem to always be drawn back to this whimsical look. 🙂

Thank you so much for joining me, I appreciate you taking the time to be here. If you would be so kind as to leave a comment I’d love to hear from you!

Until next time,

SUPPLIES

Stamp Sets and Dies:

MFT – Sending Sweet Celebration Wishes (images, and sentiment)

Sugarpea Designs – Diagonal Striped Coverplate

Pink Fresh Studio – Simply Diamonds Die Set

Distress Inks:

BACKGROUND: Cracked Pistachio, Peacock Feathers, Squeezed Lemonade, Spun Sugar

ANIMALS: Vintage Photo, Brushed Corduroy, Worn Lipstick, Barn Door (bunny) – Black Soot, Worn Lipstick, Fossilized Amber (Penguin) – Rose Beige #12, Indian red #71, Vintage Photo (fox) – Twisted Citron, Rustic Wilderness, Vintage Photo (turtle) – Rustic Wilderness, Peacock Feathers, Squeezed Lemonade, Fossilized Amber, Crackling Campfire (cupcake) – Cracked Pistachio, Peacock Feathers, Squeezed Lemonade, Worn Lipstick (Banner)

Ink:

Hero Arts – Hero Hues (black)

Assorted:

Zig Kuratake Gansai Tambi 12 set – #12 Rose Beige, #71 Indian Red (fox)

Silver Black Velvet Brush –  Size 2 Round

Purchase Silver Black Velvet brushes available here

Clarity Stencil Brushes available here

Neenah 80 lb – Classic Crest, Solar White, Smooth

Neenah 110 lb – Classic Crest, Solar White, Smooth

Gellyroll – White 08

Pretty Pink Posh – Sparkling Clear Confetti sequins


Leave a Comment