Organizing Postage, and Mailing supplies

mail 1

Does this sound familiar? I make cards, but I don’t send out nearly as many as I make. Why is that? I have great ideas about making the perfect card for someone, but when it comes time to mailing it out something happens. I freeze. I don’t want to dig out my mailing supplies, find a matching envelope, look for my stamps, and dang then there is the whole business of finding the right pen! I have at least 50 pens, but can never find the right pen! So for the most part my well intentioned cards sit in a box, not mailed. Please, don’t get me wrong! I LOVE sending cards, it was getting the supplies together that was the issue 😦

As I was mailing 2 cards recently I had most of my supplies in front of me. I thought to myself “I love my mailing supplies”. Then it occurred to me I wonder if I would use these more if I had them out somewhere more accessible? At that point I had some things in a tin box, writing pens kinda all over, stickers here, wash tape there, stamps in 2 small boxes, etc. This was like a lightbulb moment for me! One that had never occurred to me before, although I’m not sure why. As a crafter I’m super-organized. I take time to organize everything from stamps, dies, inks, ahh you know! Yet not postage supplies? huh? Just like all organization it takes a little bit of time to setup. Once it’s done you have the right supplies right in front of you! No more looking! I feel I can now enjoy the final step of sending my card on its way, and that’s a satisfying feeling for me 🙂

mail 2

I keep my assortment of postage stamps that I have collected over the years in a little box. I like having a variety of stamps to choose from to be able to match the occasion.

mail 3

I have another little box with my assorted Christmas stamps that I have collected through the years as well. I love Christmas stamps!

mail 4

I like having my contacts written “old school” on a piece of paper. So I printed out a few sheets for friends, and family then tucked them into a cute notebook I had. I also now have a few of my colourful fun writing pens in a container that sits on top of my card box. I’ll add to it as I find those missing pens 🙂

mail 5

I do have an assortment of envelopes. Most are A2, or A7 sizing. Although I think I will add to my supply. I can see I’m out of a few colours, and sizes.

mail 6

I have a printed Postal rate chart that I keep in my supplies. That way I can be sure to affix the proper postage. I don’t want it delayed by coming back to me as short paid 🙂 I also have a few pre-paid #10 envelopes, and assorted stickers.

mail 7

I have a small supply of register labels, fragile stickers, and my information labels. I also have lines drawn with a sharpie marker on a piece of paper. I use this to slide into the envelopes to keep my handwritten address straight. I use a letter opener for letters I receive in the mail. This avoids damaging any handmade cards when I open them.

mail 9

I had bought this clear box quite awhile ago from a kitchen store, and it fits my A2 cards perfectly. I like the lid, which is on hinges to keep dust out. Sadly, it lived in a craft cupboard for a long time. It feels good to have them out where I can see, and hopefully use them.

mail 10

I decided to dedicate the top of my die supply shelving for my card mailing supplies. It fits perfectly on top, and is pretty cute as well!

I hope my setup gives you some ideas on how to organize your own mailing supplies. It doesn’t have to be elaborate to be functional. It just needs to be easy to mail out our handmade cards!

Thank you for joining me today, and until next time happy mailing!


Leave a Comment