Country Roads, with Hello Bluebird 

Country Roads 1

Hello, and welcome! I have such a love of the Hello Bluebird products, and although I rarely make a card using just one company. Today’s card has been made using only Hello Bluebird stamps, and die. When the March 2021 Hello Bluebird release became available I purchased this Country Roads Background Stamp. I love the glimpse of looking through the tree to the house on the hill in the background. I also like the versatility of this background. With the ability to use it on many different cards as it fits so well into other various stamps I already have. I love having background stamps for this very reason.

* If you are interested in product details for this card they are listed below in supplies *

Country Roads 2

For watercolouring on this card I used Distress Ink ReInkers. I have a palette that I use just for this purpose. First I tap a small drop of ink onto the palette. Then slightly water down the ink to make blending easier on the more rough side of the watercolour paper. This also produces lighter shades, and pastels which I prefer. I usually build in layers letting each layer dry before going onto the next. This can be typically anywhere from  3 to 4 layers to each part of the image.

Country Roads 3

I am finding over time that I am getting more comfortable with shading. This achieves such better depth, and overall feel to a card. The more I practice at shading the more I understand where the shading should be applied. Although this can still be challenging at times. With each card I make I’m learning more of what to do, and what not to do.

Country Roads 4

I couldn’t find a sentiment that I liked for this card. So I created the perfect one from sentiments that I had on hand from Hello Bluebird. I simply cut apart 2 sentiments from 2 different sets with my scissors. Then using my Misti, and my Simon Says Stamp transparency grid lined them back up without to much fuss!

Country Roads 5

I love how this card turned out! Hello Bluebird has such a great lineup of products that you can see here.

Mixing, and matching stamp sets is such a great way to stretch our supplies as cardmakers! Not to mention get the creative juices flowing in different directions! So many wonderful possibilities for beautiful cards to be made, and then shared with someone you care about.

I appreciate your stopping by, and until next time happy crafting.

SUPPLIES

Stamp Sets and Dies:

Hello Bluebird – Country Roads

Hello Bluebird – Besties

Hello Bluebird – Besties (sentiment cut to “Sometimes all you need”)

Hello Bluebird – Storybook Friends (sentiment cut to “is a good friend”)

Distress Inks:

Gathered Twigs (bunny & bear, trees, mushrooms, tree trunks, house, pathway, fence) – Wild Honey (bear shirt) – Ripe Persimmon (bunny shirt) – Twisted Citron & Peeled Paint (grass) – Barn Door (chimney)

Inks:

Hero Arts – Hero Hues (black)

Assorted:

Silver Black Velvet Brush –  Size 4 Round

Ranger Watercolor Paper 118 lb

Neenah 80 lb – Classic Crest, Solar White, Smooth (sentiment strips)

Neenah 110 lb – Classic Crest, Solar White, Smooth (card base)

Gina K – Connect Glue

Misti Precision Stamper

Score Buddy

Simon Says Stamp – Small Teflon Bone Folder


Leave a Comment